• Find a Doctor
  • International Patients
  • Newsroom
  • Contact Us
  • Patients & Families
  • Education
  • Research
  • Departments & People
  • Donate to The Barrow

    George Prigatano, PhD, ABPP-Cn


    George Prigatano, PhD, is emeritus chairman of the Department of Clinical Neuropsychology at Barrow Neurological Institute. Dr. Prigatano is board certified in clinical neuropsychology by the American Board of Professional Psychology.

    Dr. Prigatano’s expertise includes the neuropsychological assessment and rehabilitation of adults and children. He is a fellow of the American Psychological Association as well as a fellow and past president of the National Academy of Neuropsychology.

    Dr. Prigatano received his doctorate from Bowling Green State University, Ohio in clinical psychology and completed his internship at University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. He also studied neuropsychology as a visiting scholar at Stanford University.

    Dr. Prigatano’s research studies include the process and outcome of neuropsychological rehabilitation, the role of cognitive and emotional changes in arriving at a neuropsychological diagnosis, and the study of impaired awareness, both as reflected in the phenomenon of anosognosia as well as denial of illness. He has spent additional time developing the BNI Screen for Higher Cerebral Functioning, which is a screening test developed at Barrow, now translated into eight languages and used internationally.

    For more information or to request an appointment, please call (602) 406-3671.

    Honors and Awards
    • Anthony M. Solomon Lecturer, Rusk Rehabilitation Institute, NYU Medical Center, 2008
    • Mitchell Rosenthal Memorial Lecturer for Division 22 of the American Psychological Association, 2008
    • Luria Lecturer, University of Konstanz and Kliniken Schmeider Konstanz, 2005
    • Congress President of the Academy of Multidisciplinary Neurotrauamtology, 2004
    • Jim Thorpe Award for Excellence in Rehabilitation Services and Research, 2003
    • Distinguished Lecturer of the Year, Swedish Neuropsychological Society, 2003
    • Distinguished Neuropsychologist Award, National Academy of Neuropsychology, 2001
    • William F. Caveness Award, National Head Injury Foundation, 1990
    • President of the National Academy of Neuropsychology, 1998
    • Leonard Diller Lecturer, American Psychological Association, 1998