Awards & Recognitions – December 2023

International ALS Awards

Jeremy Shefner, MD, PhD, Chief Medical Officer of Clinical Research , and Robert Bowser, PhD, Chief Scientific Officer, received prestigious awards at the 34th International Symposium on ALS/MND in Basel, Switzerland. Dr. Shefner (just right of center) took home the Forbes Norris Award for his many contributions to ALS, from patient care and advocacy to research and teaching. Dr. Bowser (far right) and his multi-institutional team earned the Sean M. Healey International Prize for Innovation in ALS, recognizing their pivotal work in establishing neurofilament changes as an early diagnostic and prognostic biomarker for ALS.

Arizona’s Best Doctors

Michael Lawton, MD
F. David Barranco, MD

Barrow President and CEO Michael T. Lawton, MD, (left) and Chief Medical Officer F. David Barranco, MD, (right) were named two of the 100 Best Doctors in Arizona for 2024 by AZ Big Media/AZ Business Magazine. To create the list, which covers a wide range of medical specialties, AZ Big Media consulted with health care industry leaders and the state’s top health care organizations in addition to utilizing professional rankings.

Neurology Promotions

Valdimir Shvarts, MD
Erik Ortega, MD
Guillermo Moguel Cabos, MD

Vladimir Shvarts, MD; Erik Ortega, MD; and Guillermo Moguel-Cobos, MD, (pictured from left) were promoted to the rank of professor, clinician-scholar track, in the Department of Neurology at Barrow.